The blessing of my life

Happy birthday to my son Josef. Your entrance into the world was chaotic and painful. Your smile melts even the worst of memories. Your eyes tell me I am blessed beyond measure. Your hugs tell me everything is right in the world.

You were never a choice! You were always mine. From the moment I knew you grew inside me to this moment that you become a man. I’ve been blessed to be part of that life from the beginning.

I love you my son and I always have. Do not ever doubt this. I’ve not always been equipped to show it the right way. I’ve stumbled and even fell down as a mother. I’ve always done my best. I’ve always loved you the best way I could each day of your life.

As the years have come and gone. I’ve watched you grow. Each day you’ve filled my heart with a mothers love. I am proud of who you are, who you’ve become and who you dream of being.


Watching,


With pride a mother watches
As her son transforms
With pride a mother watches
The boy he was no more


With pride a mother watches
Guiding him through life
With pride a mother watches
As he spreads his wings to soar


With pride a mother watches
As he grows into a man
With pride a mother watches
Slowly releasing his hand


With pride a mother watches
He needs her less each day
With pride a mother watches
As he defines his life


With pride a mother watches
Looking fondly to his future
With pride a mother watches
In his time know blessings rife


With pride a mother watches
He’s growing up to fast
With pride a mother watches
Wishing the moment to last.


Son, you are properly named because you brighten my whole life! It’s hard to see you grown and becoming a man. You need me less and less and yet I need you more and more.


Just know that you will always find love, grace, patience, support, and kindness in me. I will love you to my last breath and into the life beyond that. For now and forever, you will be my son, my light, my blessing. In a world of so low and dark, you raise me up and light my way.


I love you son. Never forget those words for they are true.


Mom