Yesterday was a tough day. Today will be tough to as I get used to doing everything with just one hand.

It was lucky it’s my right hand I hurt as I am a lefty.

It all started in the morning while I was making breakfast. I guess perhaps mom wasn’t making it fast enough because the little tiger got up early. She was hungry! At some point she decided to climb the pantry cabinet to get some cereal. Well that is when things went poorly.

The pantry began tipping and I got to Tina in time yanking her away from the pantry and turned myself away as well. I guess not far enough away as my right hand was struck hard by the falling pantry. It broke my Scaphoid bone and it needed a pin. I had a gash on my wrist and they used that to put the pin in.

I’m going to have a scar I don’t need to be ashamed of now.

Well long story short, because 1 my hand hurts and well that’s enough. Tina is ok without a mark, she was worried about mommy and gave me a huge hug. I have trouble signing to her now though. 😦

I will be in this cast for 10 days then they will cut it off, remove the stitches and put a new one on. A total of 4 weeks in a hard cast but I can surf as soon as the stitches come out. Even with the cast! After 4 weeks they will put on a removable cast for 2 weeks and then a brace for 2 weeks plus therapy at that time. So in 8 weeks I should be good as new.

In 4 weeks I should be able to sign to Tina again. For now hugs and people talking for me will have to do.

Michelle

image

image

image

image