Smell you later a challenge from the daily post.

Humans have very strong scent memory. Tell us about a smell that transports you.

Ok so here is mine. The smell of the salty air. I’ve been surfing since I was very little. Whenever I close my eyes and breath in the salty air I am transported back to age 3 and 4, standing on the front of my dads surf board as he lead us rushing toward shore.

I can see the shore coming closer, the familiar feel of my fathers shadow protecting me from the sun, and the fresh ocean air in my face. Every moment was special because I was with my daddy. I remember my little hands helping paddle out, my dad holding me close while we waited for a wave, and the smile on his face the first time I got to my feet on his surf board.

With my eyes closed I smile and I remember and even with the thousands of miles between us I can always feel his love in the fresh salty air.

~Michelle

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Smell You Later.”