Today marks eleven months since I tried to kill myself and my last cut. I’m celebrating with chocolate cake and my family. My son this morning brought me breakfast in bed he’d made himself and he told me how proud he is of me. I got an awesome hug too from him.

It has been a long road and I still don’t have an urge to cut myself at the moment. My head has been pretty clear over all. I know an addiction means I will always need to be on guard. In my case I have others who are helping with guard duty too.

Thank you, each of you who has celebrated with me. The road hasn’t been easy but my family and friends have made it bearable. There is still work for me to do and a long road ahead. But I know I’ll get through it. One more month and I’ll be 365 days “clean and sober” so to speak.

My addiction has cost me dearly and I will never be free of the urge completely. But like any addict, one day at a time. I’ve long ago taken the first step in admitting my addiction and now I’m well into managed recovery.

I can’t wait for one year.

~Michelle

In less than a Month I’ll be thirty one years old. Perhaps this will be my first year, full year without self-harm. That is my goal and I’ve set my eyes on the prize.