On to week seven (but only my third entry I missed a few couldn’t help it) of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in. Check out mine inspired by this week’s photo prompt. Photo provided and credited to: (c) Dawn M. Miller @ priceless joy

(C) Dawn M. Miller @ Priceless Joy

(C) Dawn M. Miller @ Priceless Joy

Away,
By Michelle Styles
#FLASHFICTIONFRIDAY entry
Tuesday April 7th, 2015
(140 words)

Every day I sit, I pray, I watch.
He left with my heart to defend his nation and left me here behind.
Every day I sit and watch and pray, today he will return.
On the porch I can see the street up which he must come.
Every day seems like any day of my little life.
My daddy hasn’t seen me yet, I was not even born.
Every day I watch and pray today ends every day.
I don’t even know him except through stories told.
Every day I sit in mommies lap and wait for daddies return.
Though I’m not old enough to even voice a word I miss him just the same.
So this is my every day mommy and me, waiting, watching, and praying.
Is today the day that every day, becomes my happily ever after?