Tags

, , , , ,


On to week five (but only my third entry) of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in. Check out mine inspired by this week’s photo prompt. Photo provided and credited to: @pixabay.com

(c) pixabay.com

(c) pixabay.com

For Sale
By Michelle Styles
#FLASHFICTIONFRIDAY entry
Wednesday March 18th, 2015
(150 words)

For Sale,

Opening his morning paper pop becomes wide eyed. Pop declared “Old man Cecil’s estate was finally being sold!” And a shudder went down my spine. Because us kids knew of that place, a creepy old mansion up on the hill, set behind very old vegetation and unkempt trees.

All the neighborhood children would dare each other to see who could get the closest before old man Cecil yelled “Get off my lawn!” That place is falling apart so why is pop interested in it at all? I mean we live in a grand house by comparison.

Sure enough pop said “Get your shoes and socks because we’re going to the open house at old man Cecil’s place.” We got ready and piled into the car as a knot filled my stomach. Do I have to go?

Pop exclaimed “Isn’t it a beauty!” as us children sank low in our seats.