Tags

, , , ,


The newest low for Planned Parenthood is to use the Bible and religion to convince women that they are morally justified to kill their unborn babies.

The organization’s so-called “Pastoral Letter” begins with this outlandish claim:

“Many people wrongly assume that all religious leaders disapprove of abortion. The truth is that abortion is not even mentioned in the Scriptures.”

A huge problem I have with this statement is that while it maybe true a few religious leaders may approve of abortion this is not in anyway a mandate. I would bet if you poll all religious leaders those who support on demand abortions and not just in the case of rape and incest you will find a vast majority disapprove of on demand abortion.

I would contend if these same religious leaders where forced to take a lightness test you’d find they have a low opinion of the bibles moral authority. I am not even christian but I can say not a pastor I know is in favor of on demand abortion. Even my own family pastor after my rape told me no one would blame me if I choose the abortion but he was extremely relieved when I choose not to. This suggests a conflict within him.

On the one hand he has a very young church goer who is suffering from a rape and pregnancy. He knew I needed support but inside it was killing him I might murder one of gods children. He said in a mass shortly after Josef was born. “A young rape victim who makes the courageous choice to have the child conceived in rape deserves our blessing and support for she surely has gods!”

You can see his conflict in his words. He wanted to support me. He knew what great pain I was in and how hard it would be to carry this child to term knowing his conception method. He might have even been able to justify my abortion had I chosen it. But inside that defense of that choice was eating him up.

I could see the approval in his eyes when he was told I planned to have the baby and give him up for adoption. I felt his relief in his hands when he came to hold mine and told me God would bless me for protecting his child. He was one of many who checked on me often that year. I have found some comfort in his words during and after my sons birth and I’ve seen the wisdom in choosing life.

Now let’s tackle the claim that abortion is “not even mentioned in the Scriptures.”

It’s true that there is no “Thou shalt not abort your unborn baby.” as a commandment. The reason for this is that the Sixth Commandment “Thou shalt not MURDER” (Hebrew defines murder as taking of an innocent life) covers unborn babies. Unborn babies are viewed as persons. The bible clearly states even before conception they knew god. God gives life and each is his child. To murder is to take an innocent life and yet none stand more innocent than the unborn.

Children are described by and in the bible as “the inheritance from the lord”. To kill an “inheritance from the Lord” would have been unthinkable. To any true to the bible Jew, Muslim or Christian.

The Bible attributes self-consciousness to preborn babies, something that modern medicine has studied and acknowledged. Jacob and Esau “struggled together within” their mother’s womb (Gen. 25:22). The New Testament offers a similar glimpse into prenatal consciousness: “And it came about that when Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb” (Luke 1:41).

“Struggling” and “leaping” are the result consciousness.

Then there’s the case law of Exodus 21:22-25 where two men struggle and a pregnant woman is struck. She goes into labor prematurely and gives birth. “And if men struggle with each other and strike a woman with child. . .” (Ex. 21:22).

Some commentators claim that the death of the “fetus” is nothing more than a property crime rather than the killing of a human being. This is absurd. Their operating premise is that a preborn baby is not defined as a person. The Bible teaches otherwise. The original Hebrew reads: “And if men struggle with each other and strike a pregnant woman so that her children [yeled] come out. . . .” Notice that the text uses the word “children,” not “products of conception.” and not “Fetus” but CHILD!

The Hebrew word for “children” in this verse is used in other contexts to designate a child already born. For example, in Exodus 2:6 we read: “When Pharaoh’s daughter opened [the basket], she saw the child [yeled], and behold, the boy was crying. And she had pity on him and said, ‘This is one of the Hebrews’ children [yeled].’”

If there is no injury to these individuals — the mother and her prematurely delivered child or children — then there is no penalty. If there is injury, then the judges must decide on an appropriate penalty based on the extent of the injury either to the mother and/or her children because both are persons in terms of biblical law even from Hebrew times. If either mother or child perish because of the act death is the sentence. A life for a life is the punishment for murder.

The Hebrew word for “miscarriage” was available to Moses since it appears just two chapters later.
Found in the book of Job: “Or like a miscarriage [nefel] which is discarded, I would not be” (Job 3:16). Nefel or miscarriage is a term used when a child is forced born and perishes. If the child is born early through no fault of mankind it’s called a still birth or stillborn. Niv is the word for this a chhild born but never to breath air or see the light of day.

This law found in Exodus 21:22–25 These scriptures tell what happens when man or woamn causes the death of either mother or child the equal penalty of death is enforced. Exodus 21:22–25 makes it clear that this prenatal human being is to be regarded as a separate, equal and distinct human life.

Umberto Cassuto, also known as Moshe David Cassuto (1883–1951), was a Jewish rabbi and biblical scholar born in Florence, Italy. In his commentary on Exodus, he presents an accurate translation of the passage based on the nuances of the Hebrew:
“When men strive together and they hurt unintentionally a woman with child, and her children come forth but no mischief happens — that is, the woman and the children do not die — the one who hurts her shall surely be punished by a fine. But if any mischief happens, that is, if the woman dies or the children, then you shall give life for life.”

There is no getting around the fact that the Bible opposes killing unborn children, for that’s what they’re called. It clearly defines an unborn child as living and has so for more than 4000 years that herbrews have practiced the faith.

How can an organization like Planned Parenthood that is in the unborn baby murdering business be trusted with commentary on what the Bible says on the subject? When in light of the truth and defended by even one who is not christian nor Muslim nor Jew so easily dismantle their claims. The truth is there will be uninformed people who will accept this as fact and spread the lies and misinformation.

We live in a sad world when one can attempt such utter deciept and seemingly get away with it. Perhaps more voices on this subject need to be heard. I for one and thankful I didn’t murder my inheritance from God. The same I today call my son, my gift and my blessing.

I choose life and God has blessed me with mine and saved me even in my foolish attempt to end it prematurely. There is no other explanation for my survival except divine intervention. He saw I honored the life he gave to me that became my son and he showd the same mercy to his daughter and choose life for her.

~michelle Styles – June 4, 2014