Tags

, , , , , ,


Sorry today I have a more political message. Something has been bugging me since the president’s speech a few weeks back and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

President Obama said “increasing income inequality is more pronounced in the United States than other countries.” He said “Americans should be offended that a child born into poverty has such a hard time escaping it. It should compel us to action. We’re a better country than this,” the president said.

When reflecting raising seven kids on 25,000 dollars a year my parents were under the poverty marker. But yet every child they had has gone off to college or trade school. All seven are gainfully employed and 5 of the seven currently own a house. We’ve all “escaped poverty” and we did it with hard work, dedication and determination. Mister president my family proves your words are 0 for 7. Let me continue now back to my post and purpose.

The Democrats are right, there are indeed two Americas. The America that works, supports itself and pays taxes, and the America that doesn’t work. The producers and the entitlement seekers. Those who have and those who want what others have earned taken and given to them for free with no effort but to vote for who will give them more of the other guys money.

I know some who don’t work can’t find work. That’s the policies of the current administration at work. As much as Bush was to blame for the economy Barack Obama inherited the next president will inherit worse. The anti-corporate policies and refusal to become energy independent are driving this nation down. Energy is the life blood of our economy.

Look no further than North Dakota who is drilling here and now where Walmart and McDonalds are paying 17$/hour for starting wages. Yes the EVIL Walmart paying more than twice minimum wage? It’s called free market economy. You know supply and demand. Look to Texas where more jobs have been created in the past 5 years than all other states combined! Why you ask? No income taxes, business friendly environment and fiscally responsible politicians. You want America to prosper? Follow North Dakota and Texas.

Then and only then will more Americans return to the work force.

The America that contributes, and the America that doesn’t.

I agree with giving my fellow man a hand up. I disagree with giving them a handout. Welfare should be a safety net not a way of life. We should be helping the less fortunate get work through education and retraining. The disabled who can work should be trained in the work they can do. Why? Because we always feel better about what we’ve earned than what we’re given. Back to work programs would help everyone contribute and boost self-esteem by providing more Americans with a pride in a dollar earned.

It’s not the haves and the have nots, it’s the dos and the do nots.

It seems so many who have not want to look at those who have and think somehow they cheated to get ahead of you. I live in a half million dollar home and I’m not even 30. I own my home with little to no debt. I EARNED that home. Bill Gate, Mitt Romney didn’t give me this home, they didn’t cheat me to get their more expensive homes.

I have a nice retirement account built up and savings in the bank. Why? Not because it was given to me but because I have the discipline to save both for retirement 15% of every dollar and in my savings accounts for the here and now. If I want a car I price it and then calculate it’s cost in 5 years and begin saving for it. I write myself a loan and make “car payments” back to myself with interest so next time I want a car I can buy it. I HAVE because I worked hard for what I have. Not because I stole it from you or anyone.

Some people do their duty as Americans, obey the law, support themselves, and contribute to society. While others don’t.

It seems there is a double standard with laws. While some Americans can’t get drivers licenses due to breaking some minor law. Illegals who have committed a felony by violating our boarder are given them without question. I have to be subjected to the scanners and invasive pat downs because of the acts of terrorists while religious reasons exempt Islamic women?

Barney Frank ran a gay brothel out of his tax payer funded Washington DC home and he remains in power. A republican senator named Larry Craig plays footsies in a bathroom while on “official business” and he is forced to resign. The list is endless especially where politics is involved.

Those who contribute and the double standards they have to endure. /smh

That’s the divide in America. The way the politicians keep power and steal freedoms. Both sides divide to concur. Both sides blame the other for all the problems and claim they are the ones who love the constitution. Don’t tell me the republicans are better about not taking freedoms and respecting the constitution. Patriot act anyone?? Back to the subject though income inequity and the party pushing such an absurd idea!

It’s not about income inequality, it’s about civic irresponsibility. It’s about if you want the American dream go get it. Set your dream, make a plan how to get there and GO GET IT! This is the greatest nation on earth where someone with nothing can have as much as he/she earns. I know this is a fact I had nothing. My parents had seven kids and we all found ways to college.

Despite the fact my parents live on about 25,000 a year they raised seven kids and we all went to college or trade school. Some by working hard, getting good grades to get scholarships. One by working hard and getting sports scholarships. Two by borrowing the money and taking out student loans. The rest by working and paying as they could afford it. But we all went to college.

Today I enjoy a good job that pays me well. I live in a beach house I own. I drive nice cars not high end expensive cars but nice. My life is good because I’ve worked hard and earned it. My parents instilled in me a work ethic and the American dream. The idea I can have all I want if I am willing to work and plan for it. PLAN is an important thing when chasing ones dream.

The idea that hard work, dedication to a goal, some planning and some elbow grease is all you need in this country to succeed. Failure happens and we should use it as a tool to understand what went wrong and how we can fix it to try again. Where is this today and how have so many lost it?

It’s about a political party that preaches hatred, greed and victimization in order to win elective office. Don’t get me wrong the other is sleeping with corporations who buy their votes and make laws that favor their business. But I’m not talking about that right now!

It’s about both political parties that loves power more than they love this country. Their only concern is how do I get reelected rather than what must I do to empower the people to make this country the great place of our grandfathers. It’s about elections that come down to not who is most qualified to lead but who is the least of the two awful choices who will do less harm to the nation during his/her term.

The politics of envy preached by Barack Obama was on proud display in this speach when the President pledged the rest of his term to fighting “income inequality.” What does he mean by that? He means he will take from those who work, contribute and follow their dream to success and give to those who refuse to dream, work and contribute. He is dividing by preaching those who have stole it from you! That couldn’t be a bigger bold faced lie.

Tell me what I ever stole from you. I’m waiting…….. Thought so the answer is nothing and guess what neither did anyone else who has.

He noted that some people make more than other people, that some people have higher incomes than others, and he says that’s not just. So the other guy has it because he worked hard for it, you want it and won’t work for it, So Obama will take it for you. That is part of the divide and concur and it’s theft. To take something another owns is theft. That is what he is suggesting.

That is the same philosophy that produced Detroit. Yup take from here and distribute there. Several other states like Ney York, Maryland and California are in trouble with these same policies. And now it’s the electoral philosophy that is destroying America.

It conceals a fundamental deviation from American values and common sense because it ends up not benefiting the people who support it. Instead it betrays them by robbing them of the dream. Does that do them a service? No it enslaves them; though even slaves have dreams so perhaps it’s worse than enslavement and the chains used to shackle them despair, hopelessness and hatred.

They have been enslaved in a culture of dependence and entitlement, of victim-hood and anger instead of ability and hope. I can think of no greater crime than to deny someone’s ability and with the other hand rob them of hope and dreams. A crime against their freedoms and spirit and a slap in the face. They are telling those who “have not” that they are too stupid to succeed and too lazy to dedicate themselves to a dream. I would find that insulting but maybe that’s just me.

The president’s entire premise is that you reduce income inequality by debasing the successful and seeks to deny the successful the fruits of their choices and spare the unsuccessful the consequences of theirs. You can’t legislate prosperity and success. You can’t take away bad choices we all make them. We can only teach about success, hope, dreams and choices. With education comes power and that power will teach when mistakes are made and reward when things go as planned. The rewards are personal realization of our dreams and goals and there is no greater reward.

Income variations in this society are largely a result of different choices leading to different outcomes. You want to be a millionaire ok great that is a dream now what’s your plan to achieve it? Dreams only come true when we plan to make them so.

Those who choose wisely and responsibility have a far greater likelihood of success, while those who choose foolishly and irresponsibly have a far greater likelihood of failure. Your choices determine your path and no one but you can make those for you. Personal responsibility is key. Are there those who need help, those that can’t work? Yes and I’m fully ready and willing to see them cared for. But a vast percentage of those who take today are capable and able.

Example: You choose to drop out of high school or to skip college – and you are apt to have a different outcome than someone who gets a diploma and pushes on with purposeful education. Why do I include the word purposeful? Because you need to be serious about your degree. If you are spending upwards of 100,000 dollars and study gay and lesbian studies or classical latin studies what career do you think is honestly waiting for you? Were if you study medicine (nursing ect), computers, accounting or management there are larger numbers of opportunities for you when you exit school.

If you have your children out of wedlock and life is apt to take one course; you have them within a marriage and life is apt to take another course. It’s all about our goals and choices that affect those goals. And yes there are things that come along in life and affect us that are out of our control. During this we back up and punt as my father would say. Reformulate plans and figure out an alternate path to our end goal.

Most often in life as in sailing our destination is determined effectively by the course we take.

I choose college and the hard road to make more money and you choose waiting tables or tending bar and you think we should make the same income why? I put effort into where I am and made choices to get here. My doctor makes more than me but then again he put more effort into his choices, his dreams than I did.

We all make choices, and our choices led us to different outcomes. Some outcomes pay a lot better than others. Some outcomes based on chances also have consideration. Right out of college a friend of mine got involved with a startup and it’s paid off. I choose a more stable established company and for me that’s paid off. My friend earned his money with both hard work and the willingness to take a huge risk. I earned mine by choosing safer, more stable path.

Does that mean we cheated and Barack Obama needs to take away our wealth? That somehow we found a way to cheat the system and took advantage of loopholes not available to everyone. No it means we had dreams and goals and the drive to obtain them. It means we are all free men and women in a free society where free choices lead to different outcomes. That is after all what the American dream is based upon. Freedoms, choices and the ability to choose our destiny.

It is not inequality Barack Obama intends to take away, it is freedom. Because once we forfeit our freedom to choose to follow a dream and better ourselves we have taken away the hopes and dreams of all. When you’ve taken the freedom to succeed and the freedom to fail on your own merit and choices then there is no true option for success when you remove the option of failure.

The pursuit of happiness means a whole lot less when you face the punitive hand of government if your pursuit brings you more happiness than the other guy. Even if the other guy sat on his butt and did nothing. Even if the other guy made a lifetime’s worth of asinine and shortsighted decisions. This is not way to live life shackled and unable to pursue your dreams and succeed or fail on your own merit.

Barack Obama and the Democrats preach equality of outcome as a right, while completely ignoring inequality of effort. The simple Law of the Harvest – “as ye sow, so shall ye reap” – is sometimes applied as, “The harder you work, the more you get.” Obama would turn that upside down.

He would have those who achieve be punished as enemies of society and those who fail are to be rewarded as wards of society. This entitlement will replace effort as the key to upward mobility in American society if Barack Obama gets his way and replace it with everyone being equally poor and a society based upon the lowest common denominator in which the government besieges the successful and productive to foster equality through mediocrity.

America is not divided by the differences in our outcomes and based on our choices. It’s divided by the differences in our efforts. It’s divided by those who dream and plan and those who feel entitled with no dreams, no hope and no plan. This inequity is 100% the fault of government and the rationale that accompanies the very principals of “wealth inequality”.

It is a false philosophy to say one man’s success comes about because of the victimization of another. It’s divisive, libelous and detestable to say such a thing. To claim the business owner victimizes his employees because he becomes rich and they work for minimum wage. He went to college (probably for business), had a dream, started a business, took all the risks with that business. The man who works for him probably didn’t do these things. Though in the Obama economy may college graduates are working for minimum wage but let’s not blame his 5 years of policies for the worse economy than what he inherited let’s blame the evil rich, the republicans, fox news, Rush Limbaugh, and George Bush. After all Obama doesn’t believe in choices, dreams and hope.

What Obama offered was not a solution. Instead he offered platitudes, divisive rhetoric and excuses. He pitted one set of Americans the haves against the other the have nots for his own political benefit. His words as divisive as any spoken in my life time.

Classic Marxist class warfare neatly wrapped in Christmas paper complete a golden bow. Lincoln said it best “a house divided against itself cannot stand.” These two Americas pushed by the politicians and preached as gospel to the uninformed are pushing us closer to falling. How long till Lincolns words are true and the greatest nation on earth falls to the house divided.

Rather than hate those wealthier than myself I choose to admire them and emulate their successes. I want what they have but the difference is I’m willing to work, dream and plan for it. I wish the American dream of my grandparents was alive and well today.

For those who say I want to return to slavery I leave you with this. My father served in Vietnam BEFORE he had the right to vote. Both my grandfathers served this nation in WWII and one as well in Korea decades BEFORE they had a right to vote, protections from illegal search and seizure, a speedy and fair trial. So don’t lay any B.S. on me about whites keeping people down and stealing the dream because even when my family was good enough to bleed and die for this nation and they weren’t good enough to vote in it. I know how my grandparents, parents and even myself have dealt with bigotry and hate. It didn’t stop their dream and it won’t stop mine!

I feel sad for those who allowed their dream, their hope and their choices to be taken for the chump change and lies feed to you by divisive politicians to who their personal power is more important than your good or the nations good.

~Michelle Styles – February 13, 2014